Blogging Reluctantly

Our Life. Our Memories. My point of view on both. Captured here.

The Surgery May 14, 2011

Filed under: Addie / B.Boy Wilson,Babies By Levin,Love it,Tubal Reversal — bloggingreluctantly @ 8:30 pm

My body is whole once again.  The surgery went off without a hitch.  Well maybe one.  A ruptured Corpus luteum cyst, that was bleeding. A small hitch, but it was fixed and I have 7 CM of fallopian tubes on both sides.  I cannot describe how AMAZING it is to be a whole person again.  Our journey started Tuesday night with a stop in Fort Wayne, IN.  Before we shoved off we posed for a photo:

Love this, wish we were a bit more “polished” in it, but it captures who we are.   My brother stayed with our girls.  MANY thanks to him for holding down the fort, and for doing exactly what they needed, just be “fun”.   Our first hotel was nice enough, HARD to reach but we checked in, had a couple drinks at an Applebees and then went back and tried to sleep. I could.Not.Sleep 🙂  In the morning we headed out and of course I took photos.

 Obviously we visited the Louisville Slugger Museum.  It was a great time, very inexpensive and perfect.

 

 

 

 

We walked all over town and it was fantastic.  This is our last photo before the big day. 

The day of surgery the sun was shinning,  the weather was coolish.  Got up, showered, dressed, hyper ventilated here and there met up with our shuttle driver who by the way was one of the most charming lovely souls I’ve ever met.  I commented on facebook statuses wishing me well and tried to not cry.  The driver delivered us to the right door (which was a HUGE relief!) because the Jewish Hospital is a large place, and it helped.   After a few tense moments Hubs and I found ourselves in the waiting area.  We did have a funny moment that came while registering.  The registration clerk asked me my religious preference and I said catholic,  not 2 seconds later the phone on the desk of the registrar started to ring.  Hubs started laughing like OH crap here we are at the Jewish Hospital and we are catholics are they going to boot us out. HA! (I mean no disrespect by that, if I weren’t catholic I would be jewish over every other religion 🙂 After we were done signing papers we were whisked upstairs and immediately I had to say goodbye to Mike.  I wasn’t expecting that.  I really thought he’d accompany me.  At exactly 8:00 a.m. I was taken back, changed into a gown, met my nurse and anesthiaiologist….had my IV in and waited.  It went very fast.  I also spent the entire time in prayer.  It was almost a blessing to have that alone time to pray, reflect and cry. 🙂  Just about the time Mike was allowed in Dr. Levin walked in.  (If you haven’t had a chance to check out his blog yet click here to see it yourself) He was / is lovely and I can say that I was totally at ease.  Shortly after they all swarmed in they gave me versed so basically everything after that is a blur.   Here is me after the procedure:

I left the hospital about a half hour after this was taken, and MUCH faster than after my gall bladder surgery.  I was shocked, I made it through though.  The pain initially is intense, the meds they gave me made me feel kinda awful (LIKE a whole lot awful) but it was enough to allow me to sleep.  We returned to our hotel room via the shuttle and I slept the majority of the day away.  I can’t say enough how happy we were with this process. 

The following morning which just so happened to be the day of  The Oaks horse race in Louisville, KY Dr. Levin and his nurse came to our room.  I was showered, up, dressed and eating breakfast when they arrived.  I think they were surprised.   Here is a photo of us with our miracle worker.

The recovery has been smooth.  I feel really good. I was not suprised for the vacuum affect that would happen once we were post surgery.  For months I was in pre-mode.  Now are done.  We have to wait 6 weeks until we can start trying.  A VERY LONG six weeks.   I cannot wait to post photos of positive pregnancy tests and baby bumps! 🙂

 

2 Responses to “The Surgery”

  1. Meri Greis Says:

    hi is your photos shot with a dslr?


Leave a Reply

