Blogging Reluctantly

Our Life. Our Memories. My point of view on both. Captured here.

Time makes you older….. September 7, 2011

Filed under: Love it — bloggingreluctantly @ 12:14 am
Tags: , , , ,

Took my love and I took it down
Climbed a mountain and I turned around
And I saw my reflection in the snow covered hills
Well, the landslide brought me down

Oh, mirror in the sky, what is love?
Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail through the changing ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?

Well, I’ve been afraid of changin’
‘Cause I’ve built my life around you
But time makes bolder, children get older
I’m getting older too, well
Well, I’ve been afraid of changin’
‘Cause I’ve built my life around you
But time makes bolder, children get older
I’m getting older too, well, I’m getting older too

So take this love and take it down
Yeah, and if you climb a mountain and you turn around
And if you see my reflection in the snow covered hills
Well, the landslide brought down

And if you see my reflection in the snow covered hills
Well maybe, well maybe, well maybe
The landslide will bring you down

Stevie Nicks said it best.  Time makes you bolder, children get older….I’m getting older too.  I’m too far into my mothering career to really morn the changes, but there is something about having a daughter in high school and another on the brink of middle school that shakes me.  Especially since I am expecting.  These two are my greatest accomplishments, the proof that my body didn’t let me down twice.  And look how wonderful they are.  So similar and yet so different.  I weep when I look at this photo.  I want to freeze time, keep them safe.  I want to keep them as “mine” but that isn’t why we have children.  We bring them into the world to set them free and let them fly.  There is nothing harder. 

I will always believe that the greatest gift I have been given during my quest to have more children is the great and grand realization of how fast time goes.  I will savor every moment, because it’s fleeting.  I didn’t soak up every second with them.  I wished them to sleep, I longed them to walk, to talk, to get older because it was easy on me.  Oh the selfishness.  I would give anything to go back, back to those nights with my youngest when she had ear infections and she always had ear infections when I walked the house rocking her trying to sooth her until the Tylenol kicked in…or when my oldest WOULD.NOT.SLEEP.  I wish I would have enjoyed it instead of crying in her nursery begging her to sleep. HA! For the record, she didn’t cry she just stared at me with those big brown eyes she still has and would smirk.  I cried A LOT.  I was 20 and dumb as a box of hair.  I had the whole world by the tail and didn’t see it.  I insisted on perfection, never let them be dirty, said no and stop that….not this time.  I vow to take our babies out in the mud and enjoy the dirt and the simple things of life.  To say NO less and YES more, to laugh at the funny things they do instead of being exhausted.  It’ll be a challenge but I know that time is like an hour-glass glued to the table (another song line).

Another school year has begun.  Wonder where it’ll take us.

 

Leave a Reply

